Happy First Week of March 2010

Joy, joy, joy! I like living in this world….’Flying with the ball’, as Shelley says. So, 98.8% of the time I am flying with the ball and the other .2% of the time I am dredging away at the bottom of the tank with the alligator gars. ….I don’t know the magic to stay in the Joy Zone. Soooo, what made for such a good week? I managed to squeeze in as much fun as possible. Tuesday was a perfect day…the weather was glorious; Edward et all were exceptionally in the zone (complete with an early morning Margarita); the clerk at the Austin Shoe Hospital complimented my choice of denim/velvet slacks; and I found a treasure trove on South Congress and everywhere else I went! It was just a gleeful, cock-a-hoop, chirpy day! I finally arrived at Mom’s around 8:30 in time for a little visit before turning in.

Wednesday I just ran errands for Mom and took her to an exceptional lunch at the Roaring Fork… Thursday I went on a 6 mile walk, trying to loosen up my stiff hip joints….I need to start stretching, I think…maybe Palates.

l

I met Belinda at Paloma Blanco on Broadway for dinner and a so-so Mexican Martini before we went to the McNay for a lecture on Personal Visions of Beauty: Photographs by Women in the Pictorial School–it wasn’t exactly what I had hoped for but still interesting…after we had a glass of wine at the reception. I also saw a few folks I met the week before. Then Belinda recommended we zip over to Trinity University where they were having still another IMG_0622 exhibit and reception…so we went over there and soaked up a little more culture and more wine! It was a great evening…very invigorating.

Friday I headed north through Austin so I could pick up some tortilla soup mix for Mom then on to Georgetown so I could see the much anticipated, Alice in Wonderland. Oh happy, energizing entertainment. This is my favorite tale. I am totally captivated by the dialogue between Alice and the Cheshire Cat…

tim-burton-alice-in-wonderland-movie-photos-7.0.0.0x0.430x645 1book22
“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?” asked Alice
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat
“I don’t much care where–” said Alice.
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat
“–so long as I get SOMEWHERE,” Alice added as an explanation.
“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if only you walk long enough.” (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Chapter 6)


Leave a Reply

