Archive for June 10, 2010

Always Wear Shoulder Pads or Big Hats

Posted in Uncategorized on June 10, 2010 by drycreekherbs

This I learned at a Home Ec convention from a workshop speaker! Optical illusions matter…like first impressions! Big girls should (well, at least in the 1970s) wear shoulder pads….It is an optical illusion. Makes your buttocks look smaller. Also big hats work… Well, perhaps some hats are too big…see attached photo. One big wind and I am over the canyon. In fact, as I see it now, I sort of look like Poncho Vila or a modern, Flying Nun. Anyway, dark colors make a difference too. No ruffles if you want your bosoms to look smaller (I like ruffles, so I wear them in spite of mega bosoms.) I might start wearing starched petticoats if they make other parts of me look smaller although it might cause a bit of a stir in Salado. WDSC06088 hat can they do to me? So they talk about about the older woman wearing starched petticoats. In the course of history, worse things have happened.

I Could Live in Santa Barbara

Posted in Uncategorized on June 10, 2010 by drycreekherbs

Santa Barbara is great. Sort of reminds me of San Antonio only better, of course…and sort of like San Diego….and sort of like San Miguel de Allende…Hey, they are all Saint places! Very weird. It took about an hour to get there over very unique terrain…rolling brown hills, farm land, coast land, and fweaky roads. More on my ‘Weanie Index’ later.

So, I did exactly what new MCEC chum, Sandy, told me to do. I went to the Mission, Botanic Gardens, Harbor, and State Street. That gal sent me to all the cool girlee places! I am going to follow her recommendations tomorrow too. I have a zillion photos.

DSC05807

  DSC05774   DSC05767DSC05803   DSC05781  DSC05788

The mission has a very cool chalk gallery on the plaza…see above. I have a thing about cemeteries and gravestones. I get a real sense of what it really all boils down to when I am in a cemetery. ‘Gone but not forgotten’ always gets me. There is a noun, that I can’t remember of course, for those who are caught up in gravestones and such.

The Botanic Gardens were just up the road–lovely variety of several terrains–meadow, redwood, canyon, stream, etc. Also very cool gift shop where I changed clothes after buying the most brazen colors I could lay my hands on. DSC05816 Here is an observation. Never ask a robust, fit person what the lay of the land is like. They think it is all a piece of cake. Nothin’ to it. Ask a winded, dumpy, florid, perspiring, older person if possible. Therein lies an accurate assessment of what you can expect. For a while I thought MedJet would need to air evacuate me out of the canyon…and it was not like the Grand Canyon either. DSC05814 It is hard to trek when you are loaded down with packages. But I KNEW I could be spotted from the air what with my colors! Also, never ask a woman clerk wearing Ann Taylor monochromatic pale pinks what she thinks about the orange hat and periwinkle blue T-shirt combo. No, find someone who looks like Carmen Miranda. She /he will know.

Then to the Harbor for lunch. I found a very quiet outdoor restaurant overlooking the Harbor. After a yummy lunch I walked about 6 miles…and a good thing too since I had ice cream for dessert. Gorgeous architecture, cute shops, and beautiful people. The library was very Hollywood. DSC05834 DSC05843  

I love my life.