Pretty Quiet Day — Windy Though

DSC05757

So today I hustled around Lompoc before heading off to San Luis Obispo (SLO). I checked out of the spartan Holiday Inn Express and did a last drive through Lompoc. It kind of reminds me of Copperas Cove only prettier. They have fields and fields of flowers that make driving with the windows down delightful…especially the fields of stock.  

DSC05868

I almost forgot the Mission Purismo which is fantastic. It is really a secret garden not at all the Hollywood version of a mission. I am so glad I decided on a whim to go in. It is the kind of place that you can DSC05877 feel the ghosts but not spooky…the kind of ghosts you would like to have a beer with.

DSC05904

Then off to a place called Morro Bay which was relatively interesting–kind of a Coney Island atmosphere. Not the high end Santa Barbara atmosphere but more like you might see Archie and Ethel Bunker in the cold water taffy shop…and me too of course! It was so windy that I almost lost my super-sized orange hat.

I bravely headed over the mountains, ok hills, to Atascadero to find a lavender farm. It was ok. With a quick stop at Trader Joe’s so I could buy some boxes of organic Mac n’ Cheese then into SLO. I made a special trip so I could visit the Thursday Night Farmers’ Market– it is/was so cool. Every single Thursday they have this 10 block market. It is sort of a fiesta atmosphere…lots of produce, flowers, zealots, food, etc. DSC05916

I am doing Marriott Courtyard Inn hopping. College graduation is happening everywhere so I can only find a room for one night then I have to move on. I kind of like it…but imagine this…each room I have or will stay in before I pick up Len is $150.00 range until the US Open or graduation…then the rooms shoot up to $350-400.00!

Leave a Reply

