July 4, 2010: Happy Birthday America. I love you!

DSC06337.JPG

Greeeeeat weekend. Dinner with Susan and Bill with, perhaps, best food I have ever eaten. Susan is a good cook and a healthy cook. If I lived at her house I might avoid cardiovascular disease. We had Garlicky Shrimp, Corn and Blueberry Salad, Roasted Asparagus, and Blackberry Cobbler. I like writing it down in the journal so I can retrieve it. Oh, AND, tasty Stuffed Jalepeno Peppers. S & B have a very good way of making you feel very about being who you are.

Next day…that would be yesterday. After church I came in with the intention of whipping up some Moravian Coffee Cake, because I have never had it in my life. But, I was overcome with exhaustion. Literally and completely. I think that the Prednisone I took last week wiped me out. I laid down with Pussy Boy, Morris, and slept for 5 hours. Hard sleep, very hard, with lots of dreaming. Susan L. tells me I need the sleep when that happens. Up at 5:00 then dressed to go to the Hoelscher Dinner and Fireworks Extravaganza. Len and I think we have been going there for maybe 10 years…quite a few years even before Pam died. It was fantastic–DSC06396.JPG over 100 boats docked beneath the cliff where the house is on Belton Lake. Mike said he had over, get this, 2000 pounds of fireworks! It was spectacular. Also we had fabulous fajitas. Right before the pyrotechnics, we heard a moving rendition of our National Anthem. Here we are out on the cliff-yard and everyone stood up. Very patriotic. Of course, I love seeing Katie and Erik. The connection means everything to me.

DSC06379.JPG

DSC06399.jpg fireworks_1_bg_070402.jpg

Fireworks photo courtesy PDPhoto.org.

2 Responses to “July 4, 2010: Happy Birthday America. I love you!”

  1. erik hoelscher Says:

    i had such a great feeling come over me when i saw you and len. it has been such a long time. i need to stop by more often. its not like i live far away. i had a great time talking with you and would like to do it again soon. i miss you guys. oh, i still wear the shades everynow and then. i love them! love you both. i will be calling soon.

    erik

  2. Nicola Harvey Mundschau Says:

    Susan,

    Loved finding your “journal”. I had a good belly laugh! Your humor has not aged as much as you think your body and organs have 🙂 Please send me an email. I would LOVE to bring Perry by your farm. She would be in her glory. If you need assistance with harvesting anything, please let us know! Miss you much.

    Love,
    Nicola

Leave a Reply

