Santa Fe and Workshops

IMG_0643.jpg

IMG_0623.jpgIMG_0690.jpg

IMG_0616.JPGIMG_0655.jpg

I arrived at the casita pretty early, thank goodness. It would have been very hard to get in after dark…just too hard for me to see and not knowing what I was doing would only make things more complicated. Greg, the next door neighbor had the heat on so it was nice and toasty…everything went very well until I turned the heat up in the bathroom, turned on all the lights, showered, and put on my PJs. Then whaaaap.! The fuses blew. I was in complete darkness. Pretty discombobulating. Luckily I always wear an LED flashlight on my pedometer and of course I always wear my pedometer on my PJs (and it has nothing to do with racking up mileage at night!). So, anyway, I used the light to find my shoes and a jacket then began to search for the circuit breaker. At last it was located outside the front door but I couldn’t get the switch to flip. So I made my way down the alley in dark except for the LED light to Greg’s house. Problem was I couldn’t get anyone to answer my knocking at the outer gate, so i went into the courtyard. I could go on and on. Bottom line: I roused him out and he came over and showed me a new trick. Now I know how to flip the circuit breaker. I like it here….in fact it is perfect for me while I am here for the classes

Hmmmm, what next. Well, I have made multiple trips to Trader Joe’s to load up on grub. Gourmet and exotic grub. I have triple cream Brie, portobello mushroom soup, prosecco, pears, olives, hummus, hearts of palm and artichoke salad. Finally I was able to prowl around town. I had a magnificent breakfast at Cafe Pasqual then shopped. Ooops–bought some awesome silver earrings. I have also discovered a verrrrrry cool pawn/consignment shoppe that I will revisit tomorrow.IMG_0667_2.jpgIMG_0646 2.JPG

I headed home before dark, then made an omelet, then showered, then to bed and woke up to snow! Nothing significant but enough to get me out to the car to defrost and scrape! Once the car was clear, I went up to my class which was located in Old Santa Fe in the Carmelite Monastery. There were 8 participants in the PhotoShop class and it was non-stop. My brain was so full I don’t know how I am synthesized anything. Here is what I know…I couldn’t do more than just go to class. I couldn’t play and take a class unless it was a semester class. There is no internet anywhere predictable. I’ve been in more than a few parking lots. During lunch we can go to the Monastery courtyard and trap some wireless waves….it is still iffy. I felt out of touch.

IMG_0675 2.JPGIMG_0665 2.JPG

Followup: OK, I am home but I want to get down the recollections while I can recollect them. That is an issue these days. So, both classes were reeeeeeallly hard for me. Not hard like impossible or likeAlgebra, but hard because I had to really learn it. With Algebra, there is NO learning it. The PhotoShop class was the hardest. I just can’t quite figure out the difference between layers and masks. But I did have fun making composites, that is merging two photos. I put Dennis M. in a fountain aka feutes! That was fun. In time I might learn to do body slimming which I am verrrrrrry interested in learning. The book class was not a challenge in terms of the Booksmart software workflow. What was hard was using Bridge and PhotoShop to manage the files: resizing, managing color, and sequencing before importing the images. I made an enormous mistake by being first to introduce myself to the class and share my experiences. I sounded like a priss. I am not a priss. What I did learn easily is to be humble in the presence of so much talent!!! Thank goodness I was making the MCEC corporate gift book…with kids’ art and NOT my photographs that look like they are taken by a Kodak Brownie compared to these really slick photographers. I think I will post covers from some of the books to show just how proficient these classmates were/are.IMG_0684.JPG

The long and short of it the week: I liked it a lot even though I was hyper-vigilant and hardly had any down time. I am convinced it is really good for me to stretch like this. It takes me off my center zero and makes me see the world differently.

Leave a Reply

