Whole Lot of Shakin’ Goin’ On — Maybe Too Much Shakin’!

201104070801.jpg

I think Jerry Lee Lewis’ song titles are soooo descriptive and worthy titles for a journal commentary….in particular, Big Legged Woman is the most memorable…wouldn’t it make a verrrry interesting grave stone? As a teenager, I used to think having a song written about you would be sooooo romantic….not Big Legged Woman. Anyway today’s title, Whole Lot of Shakin’ Goin’ On, is all about just so much going on in general. Here is another thing: Jerry Lee was or is (Is he dead?) wrote some very suggestive songs…very suggestive. No wonder, he did marry his 14 year old cousin after all. Twisted.

OK: I wrote last in March and I have had a zillion clever thoughts since then and even made some notes but they are lost or forgotten so now I am just going to punt and sound like I am not on medications which by the way I am not right now. I haven’t had any in two days on purpose…I have opted for alcohol since it was more appropriate. Figure that out. (After reading this, I realize it is clear I wasn’t taking my ADD medicine.)

Ok, a few weeks ago I was walking up our dirt road and thought what a shame it was that in my 64 years I have never discovered a rare coin or what I reeeeeeeally want is to find a real, genuine arrow head right there in the dirt road. This way I can think of an entire culture right there or near by…I can get away from thinking about me, me, me. It will be like visiting a grave yard and seeing all those gone before me….what were their burdens? I mean they are still dead and whatever gnashing of teeth or beating of breasts they are still dead. I am sounding agnostic again. I hope I get religion before it is all over.

OK: I probably won’t find an arrowhead and I probably won’t get to dance with a tall, dark, swarthy guy on American Bandstand either…all while wearing a pencil skirt, white blouse with a Peter Pan collar, scarf at the neck and penny loafers. I really wanted to do that…slow dancing preferred.

OK again: Since the last entry- I picked up the carpet and all urine odors are gone, gone, gone. It is a miracle and worth the big bucks…especially since Katie’s shower is the end of this month and I don’t want women swooning from malodorous vapors.

OK again: I have been trying on clothes and buying clothes and having friends critique me in iPhone photos taken in the clothes. It is because I have lost 15 pounds according to adolescent doctor…who thinks it could be my medication…he is so funny, he says, he might start taking it since he has put on some weight. Back to the story(ies). In spite of the CURRENT weight loss, I still have a hefty bosom….when did that happen? I used to be flat chested…now I am looking like a Mama Dog. I have bought numerous ‘outfits’ as Mom calls them. Most of them Sally would call costumes–they are either huge flax bags that look like they came from Marrakech — and where exactly is Marrakech, anyway? Or they are voile florals with plunging necklines for old crepeY cleavage–oh, and with asymmetrical hems (very costume-like, reminiscent of belly dancing outfits, thank you Sally!) I think they remind me of the BBC sit com but I can’t remember the name if I ever knew it. I love ornamentals….Susan L says I am a Clothes Hanger. I also love make up….such a girly at 64.25 years-old.

Have I ever mentioned that Len is dear? He has danced with me (fast, swing style) in Garden Ridge (people clapped their approval)….where they pipe in very cool ‘be-bop’ much like they do in the PX, Commissary, and HEB….maybe sock hops should happen at these locations. Len CAN be almost wonderful. Seriously, I sound like a Law and Order Bi Polar character tonight. And, I think I have written about this on multiple occasions because I like(d) it so much.

OK again: Since last entry Katie and Collins made a house call and GOOD GORDON, they were absolutely brilliant with ideas. Brilliant. I have so many new kitchen options I hardly know what to do. Of course, I have to say it, Pam, please be able to see and know all of this. Katie is divine. She is like you in so many ways….I reallly hope you know all of this. She lets me talk about you now without seeming uncomfortable.

MAX AND SUZ IN THE GARDEN.jpg Screen shot 2011-04-07 at 6.18.23 PM.png

OK: I have been compelled to make homemade bread. Pretty darn good, I might add…but very bad for crowns (as in artificial teeth!). What with baking and farming with Max I have been a real homemaker!

OK: Babs and I took a ‘bead making class’. Not much of a class but we had a good time and a good lunch.

OK some more: The MCEC book looks verrrrrrrrrrrry good. It might even be very, über good. It is being given to those who make $10,000. plus donations to MCEC. It is 90% art by military kids and some poetry too. This is why I went to the Santa Fe Photography Workshop back in November. Yup, I am pretty proud of it.

OK again: So now, Len says we have to replace the roof in order to remodel the kitchen. He sure is generous these days and I am grateful….I suspect he thinks we are really nearly old so we should spend it all so not to have to give it to the Wicken Church in Copperas Cove. This is a joke, by the way. And, hello, not only did Collins and Katie come over for a brainstorming event….so did Edward and Mac! How lucky am I? Sunday after church, they came over and spent a few hours giving me brilliant ideas and having drinks….I am not a good daytime drinker so I was at a disadvantage. Len did say I was not obnoxious until after they were gone…then he said I was very chatty. That makes me smile. Since I had wine during the day I ‘took to my bed’ at 6:00 pm where I had more wine, watched 4 episodes of Doc Martin, and texted Katie while she had her wedding photos done in Austin!

IMG_1516.jpg

Scan 2.jpg

OK: Ladies day out with Susan and Becky at the Scott & White Luncheon. Shelly-belle was one of the lovely models…all very elegant in their own ‘vintage’ clothing…very cool idea.

IMG_1513.jpg IMG_1512.jpg

Again OK: Lauralyn and I had a great breakfast therapy session. Very good for both of us.

Linda N. died. She really was one of the saints. I never knew anyone who exemplified such total goodness. It was a very lovely funeral and I am totally downplaying it and how her life will resonate for so many. I just don’t get it….

But it is OK or will be.

3 Responses to “Whole Lot of Shakin’ Goin’ On — Maybe Too Much Shakin’!”

  1. You just stay costumed up, honey, and continue to show all the rest of us what living is REALLY all about. You totally get it, and I can only watch in wonderment and envious enjoyment. Riding on your coattails is an endless pleasure. Sally

  2. I soooooo love reading your journal!!!!

  3. I sooooo love readiing your journal!!! Better than the Diary of B. Jones!

Leave a Reply

