Women in the Outdoors 2011

WITO_Logo.jpgIMG_1622.jpg

And it was verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry hot too. I really didn’t want to go. But I knew Susan L would kill me if I bailed at the last minute so for the second year I dreaded it but went and had a ball. This is a field day or women sponsored by the National Wild Turkey Federation, of all things. And because I attended and paid for the registration fee, I am a member of the National Wild Turkey Federation. I like that. it was at the Jack Hilliard Ranch out in Buckholts again. You rank order ten activities you are interested in when you register way in advance and you don’t know what you get until you at the ranch. I was panicked that I was going to get trailer backing or welding but I got just what I wanted: handgun safety, kayaking, hawking, and archery. I loved all the sessions but especially the handgun, archery, and kayaking. I am pretty good with the handguns and the archery. I am getting a compound bow ASAP and a kayak, I think.

IMG_1618.jpgIMG_1615.jpgAnn C went with us too…also know as Wayne’s wife from PDAS training a thousand years ago in Ft. Worth. The three of us really rocked. Susan and Ann took herb gardening, wood turning, duct tape purse making, and car basics. Next year I want to take the rifle class and fishing. So now I am winding down….I posted some of the photos on Facebook and have had quite a few funny comments.

DSC07050.jpg I am whipped and a little sunburned. Tomorrow church, then the third wedding in 6 weeks.

Oh and just for the record, no beer in the cup in the photo….the man who owns the ranch is a beer distributor — hence the water cups. I like the quotation….She believed she could….so she did. Nice.

DSC07054.JPG   DSC07046.JPG

Leave a Reply

