I Just Made Reservations for Two Spa Treatments at 10,000 Waves in Santa Fe

Len and I are going to go to Santa Fe to escape the heat and kill some time before my Coyote Cancer Treatments start. Len is realllllly being a prince about this trip. He volunteered to take me but I said I didn’t really know if it was a good plan. Len’s idea of taking me on a road trip is just that, it is a road trip. Len wants me up and in the car ready to roll by 7:00 am. From 7:00 until 2:00 pm he drives me like the wind up –hill and dale– with brief pits stops and a quick bite to eat. Home by 2:00 for him to wind down and prepare for his happy hour. Not so much fun travel in my opinion. He has promised not to be a maniac. In fact, he has promised to take his bike AND his golf clubs–I like this. I will have private, down-time to take the car to shop, browse, meditate, read, etc. I am really looking forward to visiting my favorite consignment shop in Santa Fe…Double Take. It has the coolest stuff.

Screen shot 2011-08-21 at 10.05.02 PM.png

I am also planning a spa visit to 10,000 Waves. AND, Len wants to go with me. This is Big. Very, very big. This is another indicator that Len is being a prince. I just made our reservation for the following: a 90 minute, private New Ofura Bath, a yasuragi head and neck massage, private therapeutic massage, salt glow rub, and finally the amazing ashi anfa foot massage. OMG. I can’t wait. Foot massage is pure and complete heaven. I will be moaning and drooling. So anyway, this is hugely BIG that Len said he wanted to go too. I was so proud and wrote to tell my travel chum, Belinda. She wrote the following back to me which is so 100% accurate. She said I could include it. She is sooooooooo funny. I will summarize the experience once I actually get him home.   

“If Len is like J …let me tell you how the spa thing would work for us. J would be all about being agreeable. He would intend to supportive and agreeable, but right after they asked us to sip tea in the “quiet area” while we wait in our terry robes for our person to come and get us, I would be able to tell he wasn’t into the experience. No one else could tell, but I would know. I could read the signs. Then I would get anxious because he wasn’t having a good time. He would tolerate it. I would be uptight and then after it was all over he would be complimenting himself on how wonderfully supportive he was through the process and I would be wishing he had spent the day on the golf course or anywhere but with me.

I hope it is different for you guys, but J at a spa just doesn’t jive.”


Leave a Reply

