This and That

I have all kinds of things to yap about tonight if I can remember them.

I got a call day before yesterday from the Oncotype DX lab. It was a crazy call and put me in a dither–another shaken baby syndome feeling The woman called to ask if we would pay the $4,000. for the test if Tri-Care would not. She did say that the lab would submit the claim 5 different times. If however, we would not agree at the time of the call to pay if Tri-Care wouldn’t, then the lab would not release the results to the physician. According to the caller, Tri-Care has a poor payment history…out of 1,000+ claims, only 80 were insurance paid. This makes me NUTS. At best it seems sort of an ethics issue. Luckily, we have the resources to pay. It made me nuts though. It made Len crazy mad at them for calling me.

Screen shot 2011-08-26 at 10.02.30 PM.pngScreen shot 2011-08-26 at 10.02.55 PM.png

Hmmm, what else? I was fitted for a sleeve and gauntlet yesterday. It is to be worn during air travel and exercise as a prophylactic so not to get lymphedema or if you get it to manage it. Dr. R says I am unlikely to get it because I had only 4 nodes removed. But I don’t want it. Casey, the exceptionally nice PT gave me a full hour explanation of lymphedema. She said you can get it at any time…now, 5 months, 10 years. Once you get it, you have it. If you notice swelling and it is transient, you still have it and quick like a rabbit, call your oncologist. Casey also identified things I should avoid: water temperature above 102 F (this required a call to NM spa to request a lower temp), repetitive exercise (could this mean absolutely no housework?), cuts, scrapes, sunburn, insect bites, etc. OOOOOOOOk. I like Casey a lot. I left my iPad in the hospital…she called to let me know and met me in the parking lot to give it back. I especially like the tattoo version of the sleeve. I will be getting this–it will FWEAK Len out. I wonder if I wear the sleeve if I will have a flat stomach like the woman in the photo? Bet so!

Happy news: I managed a pretty decent braid-do today. I like it….maybe a little Pentecostal for what I normally have but it is what I have been wanting for 7 long years. I am waaaaaay too focused on hair. DSC07180.jpg

Packing for Santa Fe. I am into it–I like to pack. I am loading the car up as if we were going to be camping on the caprock. Little tiny coca colas, nutella, peanut butter, several bottles of prosecco, protein powder, almond milk, chocolate in several forms, Planter’s digestive snack mix, crackers, and canned spinach and baked beans. Oh also, mini mirangues. Seems like reasonable camp grub to me. Just in case, a couple of cans of sterno and a tiny little fold out cook top to cover one can of sterno…in case of car trouble. Also a couple of LED night lights and plenty of face cream and mascara.

Speaking of packing, Len is turning semi-weird. I suggested that he might want to use a suitcase on this trip. He got all bristly. He prefers to use plastic grocery bags.. I guess it is a form of recycling. Over the years we have had a few tiffs about this. AKA giant, fall down fights. This all started about 30 years ago when we foolishly left our luggage at my Mom’s house before we went on a road trip. Len convinced me we would be better off not taking the big suitcases so we used brown bags. I don’t think plastic bags had been invented then. So while we were gone Mom gave the luggage to the housekeeper! She gets very defensive about this. I don’t know what precipitated this give away. At any rate, Len became a hobo and has ever since resisted the use of luggage. He is petulant when we travel on public transport because he has to conform to baggage. He is very odd, I think.

Len and I MAY do some geocaching while in Santa Fe. I think it might be a good opportunity to see if this is something we might like to do together. They have something called the Sparrow Route…you can rent a GPS for $25.00 a day and get to know the downtown area and at the same time get the essence of what geocaching is. Len has once again agreed to try it. I am sure once the radiation and whatever kind of treatment I get is over, Len will call in all his markers for being a kindly prince. So far he is 99.5% magnificent.

I signed up for Conversational Spanish today. I have signed up for other conversational language classes in the past. I usually go two times….tell everyone I know that I am going then drop out. I did that with Italian…I learned ‘Scuzi!’ Susan L. used her Latin from high school to communicate beautifully while we were in Italy. It was my job to say, “Mi scuzi!”

DSC07177.jpg

I just found this photo of Brother Bill. I love this picture. It is the essence of Opie as he was called as a kid. He is a livin’, breathin’, practicin’ iconoclast. Seems to me this is a photo he would like sitting up on a stand by his cremation urn in a funeral home. Now that I think of it he might prefer an old rubber boot to house his remains.

Tomorrow up at dawn for Chris who does on-site car washes, then to the library, then to the pharmacy, then to make pages of notes for the house sitter. Bussssssss bussssy as Becky P. used to say about me some 45 years ago.

3 Responses to “This and That”

  1. Nina Bible Says:

    I loved this entry! It was just like having a real-live conversation with you! The picture of your braided do looks like something out of a magazine at the beauty shop…very nice and sophisticated. I vote for the tatoo arm sleeve…old rebel that I am!

    Have a great time on the road trip. I wish we were once again off to San Diego to bring back dates and wine and whatever else we picked up along the way (including the assorted insects flying around in the van)! Love you!

  2. nancy baumann thurmond Says:

    Beautiful hair!! Did you know Lisa Gilland who lived in my building at Ramstein? She lives in Sante Fe…her name is Lisa Gilland Morice. Sounds like a much need and well deserved respite! Have a wonderful trip!

  3. Jackie hoover Says:

    I can so relate to Len’s use of plastic bags as luggage. John, as I have previously complained, insists on rental cars for road trips. Just finished one. All my extended family members had very nice, upscale personal vehicles on family vacation, and we drove to Galveston in a bright aqua rented Jeep.

Leave a Reply

