I Thought I Had A Lot To Write About

For the past week I kept having ideas of things I wanted to get into my journal so not to forget them…so I started just jotting down things to remind me. Well, as I look at the list, all I can think is–how dull. That was written last night. Today is a new day, the sun is out, I have 7 more blasts of radiation, I have the house to myself, and I have wee, little, furry eyelashes and brows–yes, life is good.

I guess we are finally settling into a retirement pattern–we do our ‘own thing’ most days. Len still golfing and riding his bike. We go to the movies about twice a month and have dinner in Austin monthly or more often….just depends on the need for red meet. We talk about buying a condo in Austin or San Antonio but I don’t know that we ever will. It sounds like fun but I am the one who has always said, “I never want the responsibility of a second home.” I have seen what Mother dealt with all these years…so we will see.

IMG_2049.jpg

Ok, speaking of eyelashes. I don’t think I have written since they all just fell out. Actually, I have one remaining on my left eye…the brows are very, very scarce. Fortunately, there are sufficient on the left side that I can ‘do’ it with pencils and powder then do the other side. If I didn’t have the remaining left side hairs (all 12 of them) I wouldn’t be able to align the right side–ending up with one up and one down…I have purchased, naturally, about 4 different pair of false eyelashes and have semi mastered the application with the help of many ‘found’ accoutrements. My favorite is an ancient, faux ivory, cocktail fork that I found at Mom’s. It is the one implement that is less likely to put my eye out. I bought Revitalash to thicken lashes and brows but I am already seeing evidence of eye irritation so I will put that away. Another expensive venture gone awry.

IMG_2070.JPG

It is such a gorgeous day and I am sitting on the porch listening to the fountains and wind chimes soothe me into a near stupor. I think a nap is in my near future. I am still sleeping a lot but feeling absolutely fabulous. Back to our early spring–I found this nest of abandoned blue bird eggs when I was cleaning the blue bird house. They are so sweet I am keeping them awhile. I hoped for a while they were new eggs but there has been no activity at the house…so they will be dear little treasures. The cedar wax wings and robins have been here and gone. I love spring like weather but I also know we are certain to have some really cold weather in February…or I hope so…I have more piñon wood for the fireplace that needs burning.

IMG_2052.jpg

Today I am just loving everything. Topping my list: Water droplets that look like rhinestones on grass; water fountains, wind chimes, blowing leaves, cool breezes, shadows, and listening to rain. I love good laughs with Len; being with my buddies; the intensity and rush associated with a new project; on and on.  

Now about my volunteer time at the chemo treatment center–this I realllllllllllly love. I am pretty sure I won’t have the stamina to stick with this for a long time, but I do hope this isn’t one of my flash in the pan projects. I have learned so much about people, cancer, endurance, courage, frailty, professionalism, and team work. It is so easy for me to do this 3 days a week after my radiation….I am already there, I am valued, and the work revitalizes me. I love helping the patients more than anything else. I am planning to do it at least one day a week after the radiation treatment is over on Feb. 10. Mostly I do blanket and beverage deliveries and clean the chemo treatment chairs. My supervisor from the tumor board told me that what they really want me to do as a top priority is to visit with the patients for as long as they are wanting conversation. Imagine, that? I love the patients in all conditions and I think I really mean, I love them. This could make me cry. I had it so easy and others have such challenges. I better stop this line of thinking or I will float my false eyelashes off.

2 Responses to “I Thought I Had A Lot To Write About”

  1. Lou Ann Weaks Says:

    What a HAPPY journal entry. Made me feel so good just reading it, and now I want to run (well, maybe walk) outside on this beautiful day (how could this be on February 1) and make sure I am not overlooking ANY of nature’s beauty and bounty. The photo of the chair in the shadows is absolutely awesome!!!!!. Much love – Lou Ann

  2. Susan Lawson Says:

    loved the picture of the rocking chair!

Leave a Reply

