Suz is Starting a New Life Swathmore, PA

Last night we were invited to a farewell soiree for Bill and Susan….one of Bill’s students who obviously holds him in very high esteem as do many of his former ‘kids.’ Most of the folks there were from Christ Episcopal Church, or Christ Church as it is called now. A few from BISD.

It was a lovely party—we left early without any fan fare because I would have done the big scene. I get a big lump in my throat when I think she is off on her new life adventure…and good for her too. Susan is knitted into my fiber. I will miss her sorely. IF she ever carried a grudge, IF she ever was mightily irritated, IF she wanted to what? I don’t know. She raised the bar for me and I love her for it. She trained me to play Words with Friends so now I am a C- player and damned proud of it. She took me through the mean, damned cancer and I did pretty well, considering the hysteric I am. She helped me to be still. I can’t think of a time when she told me to get a grip. She was interested in my stitches, my moods, my sleep patterns, my temperature, my lab work, my hair, etc. She understood everything my oncologist said and would repeat it to us as often as necessary. If I slept for 28 hours straight, she said I needed it. If I was wired, she told me it was the steroids. If I was crying non stop, she told me I should talk to a therapist and liked me when I did.

So, go with a glad heart and many fine attributes. I hope I grow up to be more like Little Suz. IMG_3267.JPG

One Response to “Suz is Starting a New Life Swathmore, PA”

  1. Lou Ann Weaks Says:

    Through you, I will miss her too. Incidentally, you are looking mighty beautiful!

Leave a Reply

