Yellowstone, Great Tetons, and Jackson Yellowstone, Great Tetons, and Jackson

I am thinking of old women from the Old Country who were permanently bent from sweeping all their lives. I will be permanently shaped in a sitting position…like the inhabitants of Pompeii….locked up in a sitting posture. I yearn for motion. It is like being in a straight jacket. So, in a minute or whenever I get tired of reflecting on the past two days, I will watch some Doc Martin episodes. Suz and I have been playing Words, thank God, but the reception here in Wyoming is inconsistent.

We have just passed still another sign that we are on the Continental Divide—this time elevation 7,000 feet. In my ennui I have taken to looking things up on the web when there has been service. I never knew much about the divides but I sure didn’t know that there are 6 hydrological divides. I still don’t know much about it.

Len and I have had several good trapped-in-the-car conversations…things we need to talk about but never sit still long enough. Today I am interested in what to give up in case of Len’s demise. I am thunder struck with how little I know about our finances. So the plan is for a training session. Like such things in the past, these ideas often do not come to fruition.

Back to our road trip destinations. Well, we left the hideous Holiday Inn in Billings with Yellowstone as our destination. The GPS said it would take 2 hours by interstate and my phone (National Park Service) said to go a different route from Billings to the Northeast Entrance. Because I was on the phone visiting with Al, it was my fault that Len missed the turn off. Grrrrrrrr. His story. So 3 hours IMG_3550.JPG IMG_3552.JPG over the 12,000 foot Bear Tooth mountain pass we arrived in Yellowstone.  For the record I hate mountain driving as a driver or a rider. Len used to like it but he admitted to being nervous at the beginning. That did nothing for my courage. Just as Tom N. told us traffic does not move quickly in the parks. That is an understatement. Oh my, oh my….it was beautiful. Just crazy beautiful like maybe heaven (except for man eating predators and mosquitoes). For a minute I wanted to become a camper. Only a minute. BUT, I do want to learn how to fly fish—I think Tom will teach us how.

IMG_3577.jpg

Old Faithful was much anticipated and well, once you see it, it is kinda ho hum. Or it was for me. Plus the 15-year-old Ranger moved up and down the seating telling us that a thunderstorm was rapidly approaching and in the past observers had been hit. That really got my attention. We made it to the car with minimal damage and no lightening strikes. Then straight (2 more hours) through the magnificent IMG_3620.JPG Great Tetons to Jackson. I am interested in returning to the Great Teton National Park by way of airplane only. I like the idea of staying in the park a few days, hiking, fly fishing, kayaking, and laying around…then I like the idea of staying a couple of days in Jackson getting pampered.

IMG_3621.JPG

The Rusty Parrot Hotel was just as Jackie described. Loverly. We had a divine dinner last night in the hotel’s restaurant (AAA’s 4 Diamonds Award), The Wild Sage, sitting at the ‘chef’s table’ so we could see the entire production. The best crab cakes I’ve ever eaten. Then perfectly cooked Wagyu tenderloin. One of the sub chefs was amazingly precise as she prepared the salads. Talk about artistry. She spent more time with an arugula green than I do with eyeliner. After the delicious dinner, I had an appointment for a massage with a foot and hand scrub upgrade. I snored, slobbered, moaned, and slept. When it was over, the massage therapist walked me back to the room, where I fell into bed and slept like the dead.

IMG_3622.JPG

There is another boutique hotel nearby called the White Buffalo Club that is appealing too.   Len drove out to the golf course and checked it out and I did the square. We also drove through the National Elk Refuge because we just couldn’t stand not to be in the car. We didn’t see any Elk since they are all up in the mountains getting fat…but in the winter there are about 10,000 right on the north side of town. I think that is so cool.

Jackson might be a nice place to have a second home. Maybe. Or maybe just go renta place for a few weeks starting in September. Wyoming has no state income tax. IMG_3636.jpg

I can say this—America is exquisite even when it is stark. Here in the southeast part of Wyoming the sky is as endless as any ocean view. The clouds looks as close as they look far away. I like to think about what a lone traveler thought about as they rode across these unending distances on a horse. Really, what did they think about? Hoping not to be eaten by a bear, how they would cook dinner? Who knows? I think about Louis and Clark and the Native American Indians and think how utterly mystical it must have been and yes, full of mind bending hardships.   IMG_3644.jpg

IMG_3638.jpg

One Response to “Yellowstone, Great Tetons, and Jackson Yellowstone, Great Tetons, and Jackson”

  1. Lou Ann Weaks Says:

    Have loved reading about your trip–especially Yellowstone, Jackson Hole, and the Tetons. Brings back great memories of a trip Bill and I took several years ago. It was in January, and everything was unbelievably beautiful then too. Snowmobiled all over the park (were in 3 states in one day) and loved it. My first day and first time on a snowmobile we covered over 50 miles. After that, it was a piece of cake. I knew Bill was a keeper when on that first day I ran into the back of his snowmobile twice, and both times he said it was his fault!!!!!!! That was the last year you could roam the park on a snowmobile without being on a guided tour, so we were just in time!!! We are having a great time this week with Bill’s son Jon and his delightful (and lively) 9 year old daughter. The only problem is that she is on Pacific Daylight Time and we are on CDT, so about midnight when we are both drooping, she is just getting started. By the time they leave, she will be adjusted to our time zone and the next time they come, we will have to start all over again!!!

Leave a Reply

