Road Trip Completed

We left Jackson Tuesday morning…Len is this way: He is a man possessed to get home. Nothing, I mean, nothing is of interest but driving toward home. We weren’t supposed to get home until the 28th but somehow we are going to be home on the 26th.

My idea of a road trip is to go to an interesting place….poke around for a couple of days then go to the next place. Len’s idea is to drive some place every day and squeeze in a few fly-overs then go again the next day. Or possibly, just drive by the front entrance… I want to enjoy tasty different foods. Len only needs a little food and for fuel only. I like the idea of sleeping until 9:00 or even 10:00. Len has me up at 6:00 so we can be on the road by 8:00.

I was allowed to drive a total of 3.5 hours of the 3,000+ miles. I am just not going to go into this. During this time we had a discussion about a newspaper article he read in USA Today. I didn’t understand what he meant from his summary, in part because I am deaf, and in part because he has been known to mumble. So he was irritable and finally said, “I’ll just read it to you.” He did sort of-skipping from paragraph to paragraph with a lot of “so on and so on….” Then when I asked basically the same question, he said, “I need to drive.” Go figure. We might have laughed about it later, I can’t remember.

The long and short of it is we have had a nice time but a time filled to the max with compromise. I think that must mean we have been married for 41 years and know this is what it takes.

Len says the next road trip we take is to an airport! I think photos are good here. I particularly like the one of Len showing me where we had been and why we had poor phone reception. AND, speaking of photos–I am once again convinced that the only kind of camera I enjoy using is on my iPhone. It is just so cumbersome to carry the big Canon and even the Sony snap and shoot. I will always have my phone with me and easier to use when you are a passenger in a car going 75 miles per hour. I sure wish I could find a photo class using the iPhone….probably I just need to find something about composition rather that anything technical since it is the ultimate point and click.

IMG_3703.JPG

IMG_3434.JPG IMG_3649.JPG IMG_3670.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3580.jpgIMG_3678.JPG

IMG_3682.JPG

IMG_3662.jpg

Leave a Reply

