WordPress, Homecoming, Corrections, Reflections, Lists, USW*

Ok here I am writing in my journal for the first time in WordPress rather than ecto and for the first time since being in San Miguel.  My brain is filled with 1,000 chattering monkeys.  I don’t know where to start and I don’t want to forget anything.  I am hoping that writing directly in WordPress will make it easier and I won’t have any of those sudden entry deaths that happened with ecto.  Anna, my Mac coach came over this afternoon and gave me a lesson on using WordPress and will send me a summary of my lesson because I can’t hold a thought.  I think my memory is getting worse–thoughts and ideas flash across my mind monitor like an evolving screen saver….woosh.  I hardly know the shape of my thought before it morphs into some other thought—it is a fluid occurrence so the only way I can capture the idea is to immediately write it down. OK, I am going on a tangent and I will never find my way back.

So let me go straight to a brief summary of Homecoming. I left Leon/Guanajuato airport at 1:10, arriving at DFW right on time with a comfortable 2 hour layover before heading for Austin.  In the next 6 hours I received over 15 voices messages from AA telling me about gate changes and rescheduling times.  I was supposed to leave at 5:10 pm and instead left at 11:10–getting me in Salado at 1:00 AM.  The worst of it was for poor Len.  He went down to Austin early so he could browse at Golfsmiths and his favorite bike shops….early, early as is his modus operandi.  Sooooo, while I was waiting at DFW, Len was waiting in the cell phone lot for 6 hours, moving every 60 minutes because that’s what the sign said, 60 minute parking limit.  I just hated it for him.  He was very loving and patient.  He get’s extra points.  OH and yes, here is where I eat crow and write an errata.  I am a mean woman to have portrayed Len as a man possessed on our road trip.  He reminded me, correctly, that I was worried about Mom and that is why we came back early.  I never told Len that Billy said not to come back early as Mother was so much improved.  So I am humble and sorry I wrote what he perceived as mean.  He was doing exactly what he thought I wanted.  Neither of us are mind readers.

Yikes, I have written more than I thought and I am not close to getting reflections….so I am going to jump to lists to practice my bullet formatting, then do a new post tomorrow on wondrous, exquisite San Miguel.

Part of my homecoming is coming ‘down’ from the extraordinary high of being in SMdA.  No pun on the high part, since SMdA is a whopping 6,500 feet above sea level.  What I am referring to is the getting my groove back. …thinking about the here and now, the day-to-day chores, the not-so-glamorous sorting of recyclables, the parching of bone marrow heat, the wildlife , USW*.  What I have to do is get my list and timeline in order.  I have to feel productive.  Here is my partial list:

  • Determine what changes are needed/wanted for kitchen and maybe bath remodeling
  • Contract for remodeling before autumn
  • Have lunch with Foy
  • Join a gym and lose 10 pounds
  • Get hearing tested
  • Make fig jam for Mom
  • Plant succulents in the huge planter just purchased
  • Take clothes to Salvation Army
  • Find an old cell phone around here so I can take it to SMdA next time with purchased SIM card
  • Make Chris’ pineapple bread pudding
  • Call Central Market and ask them to order Guernica peppers or order seeds
  • Make eyelet tunics
  • Meditate/pray
  • Photos of bobcat
  • Make rhubarb wine sorbet and find people to eat it
  • Ask Max about fruit thinning for figs
  • Order CD of Pacifica Quartet’s chamber music
  • Rent a house in SMdA for a month at least in August or September
  • Take paper mache class and flamenco class in SMdA & figure out the foreign language punctuation marks that I just showed Camie
  • Open Rosetta Stone Basic Spanish software and DO it so you don’t say Asta Lego
  • Write a commentary on bullets and another about grammarians and their lack of humor
  • Scan map of SMdA
  • Adjust my Circadian clock
  • Order Let’s Not Go to the Dogs Tonight
  • Never own a monkey and if I do own a monkey, never let it in the house
  • Check out painting class in Harker Heights
  • Target for hair dryer like Camie’s
  • Find Madagascar hats that are missing….Max or Barbara will help
  • Go to bed

*USW:  German, Und So Weiter=etc.

Leave a Reply

