Back Trackin’

I am so whipped….I have had these photos ready to put in my journal but just haven’t had the umphh to write in my journal…so I am giving myself permission not to feel so obligated to write…I can just put the pictures in and feel good about that. I am in kind of a slump…I can’t get pumped up about much of anything so it is just a matter of time before I get wound up over something. I want to exercise but I feel like I don’t have time to exercise….that is so ridiculous. I am inclined to be overwhelmed and that just has to stop.

IMG_4561.JPG

So here are the photos from about a week and a half ago. Mother’s best friend and business partner, Betty had a baby shower for her granddaughter. Mom did not want to go because she thought she would be uncomfortable and since she can’t hear she also thought she would be a hindrance. Betty had invited a lot of former Normandy Terrace employees who worked for Mom and Betty. So in the end Mom decided to go…we went through her closet to see what she wanted to wear. Of course, I was expected to do her hair. Once we were there it was just fabulous to see Mom with her old friends. They love her so much and treat her with absolute reverence. It made me very happy for her. Affirmation is always good. From left to right behind Mom, Mary Ann, Lynn, Genevieve, and Jan.

IMG_4577.JPG

Last Friday, Becky and Bob had happy hour at their house. It was good to IMG_4572.jpg have us all together…even though Susan and Bill are in Pennsylvania…we all have our greenbracelets on in support of Joann for her fight against cancer. Susan and Bill sent their photo so we could all be together in spirit. I wore my new 5″ heels…between the shoes and Len’s stenosis of the spine, I look like a giant but thinner than I really am!

IMG_4585.jpg

Saturday, Peggy, Becky and I went to the Methodist Ladies’ Luncheon here in Salado.

IMG_4582.jpgI won $50.00 door prize and Becky won $100.00. Nice! I knew Iwas going to win a door prize. Before I left the house, as I rushed around, I decided to fill out the door prize forms…and since I was short on time, I used old mailing labels….they read Dr. Catherine S. Krals. I never, ever use my academic title and I knew if I won they would say Dr. Catherine S. Krals and I would be mortified that other luncheon guests would think, “How prissy!” or “Surely, she’s not a doctor.” But I peeled them off so I could be on my way. AND of course, I won. I went immediately from the luncheon to shops on Salado’s Main Street. That money was burnin’ a hole in my pocket. Very funny, John Hoover, told Jackie to tell me via text, that I ‘should’ give the cash back as it was church sponsored. I affectionately retorted. He responded that it was really ok and if asked I should say the money was going straight into the Susan Krals Closet Foundation! I think that is hilarious.

Len and I went to see Flight yesterday. Holy cow, it was intense. I hope I forget about it before I go to Florida at the end of the month. I don’t need to think about pilots drinking and doing drugs! I am betting Danzel Washington will win an Oscar.

Today I made pumpkin bread pudding with apple caramel sauce for Mah Jongg. It was well-received so I am thinking I will make it for Thanksgiving. Mom and Billy are coming. Actually, I told Len that I have to lose 6 pounds before I go to Florida on the 30th of this month. In order to do this, I am going on the Special K cereal diet…which means we will be eating Special K with Red Berries for Thanksgiving dinner. He thought that was pretty darned funny. So far I have had one healthy serving of Special K served with 1 1/2 cup of heavy cream left over from the pumpkin bread pudding. I may have to cut back and use half and half instead!

I am so eager to have this entry complete that I won’t edit again. I am doing that more and more…then when I read the previous entries I am horrified. Oh well. I am lazy.

Leave a Reply

