In Review: Spurs vs. Celtics, Birthday Club Brunch, Christmas Eve Plans, Visit with Marsha, and Santa in the Chemo Center

Here is why I love my journal. I get to rethink my weeks. I need that now. Isn’t it odd, how days are kinda blurry?IMG_5009.jpg Some of the photos I am putting in tonight have no meaning. I just like them.

Thoughts: I like to see Christmas Trees in a mirror. It is like Double the Flavor; Double the Fun. I also really like looking at the tree without my glasses or contacts. It is so beautifully blurry. So far, the critters have shown little interest in the tree even though it rotates. Diego is much more interesting in capturing one of Mickey’s catnip mice and squiring it away in his crate. And he doesn’t chew them up. He just likes having them.

I haven’t done a holiday letter in 2 years because of doing cancer and I think we are pretty boring. Now I am thinking I should do one. So should I add the photo of Len gazing into the new washing machine with the wonder of a child in front of Santa? Or perhaps some photos of me when I was bald? I think I will work on it while I am in San Antonio this next week. Yes, I think I will do a page of photos using the Comics software and a reallllly brief letter.

IMG_4996.jpg

Ok, here is the plan. Billy, David, and Mom will be here tomorrow midday, Christmas Eve. We

IMG_4986.JPGwill have soup and paninis…very unChristmas like but that is what I feel like doing. I think Billy and David will go back to San Antonio by 5 and I think Mom will stay here a night or so then I will take her home and stay a few days. Billy and David are planning a trip to Las Vegas…something I think David is interested in doing more than Billy. I also think this is a real tough time for Billy. The impending divorce, David going into his senior year and doing only so-so with his grades, and Mom. It is a lot on his mind. Anyway, I will stay with Mom while they are gone. I feel very awkward about not having any contact with Mary. Divorce is never easy for anyone involved.

One year ago today I had my last chemo. What a ride! About two weeks ago my hair went straight! Yesterday Edward cut my hair as I requested in sort of a Judy Dench cut. It doesn’t look as good as it did before the cut but it will grow and grows actually very fast. I am on Edward’s cancelation list for color…I think I want to be red again.

Len and I went to see the Spurs and the Celtics play in SAT. I couldn’t put my finger on what I like most about going. It IMG_4914.JPG IMG_4915.jpg would have to be the people. Len and I are hardly (as in never) out at night so it is like we are just awed at everything. I love to see the young chickies and studs, dressed to the nines or what is considered to the nines in today’s style. I am really amazed at all the boob jobs. All ages boobs high. I should be inspired.

Precious friend, Marsha has been in the area caring for her Dad. There was a plan to get together with her chums but her Dad’s condition made that impossible. But, lucky for me, I was able to meet her in Georgetown for a quick lunch on Friday. I do have great friend karma. I wonder if everyone can say that? All my friends are amazingly interesting, good looking, funny, and in some way or another iconoclastic. I am really glad it worked out to have her all to myself for a couple of hours.

Hmmmmm. What? Blessed news. Joann went in for check on her gall bladder cancer. Amazingly, yes, miraculously, the tumor is down to nothing and some score had dropped dramatically. Chemo, mean as it is, has made a difference. She will go back to MD Anderson to see what happens next.

Len and I have had a lot of fun thinking about taking up hip hop dancing. Len says we will have to take naps in the afternoon since you don’t go clubbing until about 10 or 11 at night. Oh right on that.

This last Wednesday I had the Birthday Club over here for the December birthdays–a brunch. Very pleasant. Mimosas were tasty…Babs came as my guest and as usual ended up helping me implement. She continues to be my grounding rod.IMG_4958.jpg This is Penny–she says I am her cancer mentor….She is just about finished with her radiation and her hair is coming back! Santa came to the Infusion Center last week. What with the blue glove it looks like I am about to give Santa an exam!! I call this Santa Claus and Santa Krals.

IMG_4955.jpg IMG_4949.jpg

Leave a Reply

