I Gotta a Lot of Respect for Line Cooks in Charge of Caramelizing Onions

It takes forever and you get darned few caramelized onions….that and after an hour of stirring, Len told me he doesn’t really like them. So I put 3 cups in the freezer to become part of other permanent collections.

I went to bed at 5:00 am THIS morning and up at 10:00 am. When I say my circadian clock* is screwy, I mean it. It was like the old steroid days—I whipped through the house a mile a minute–packing and unpacking, packing and unpacking. No caffeine ingested either. Prosecco, yes. Now I have spent the last seven hours procrastinating. Thinking of things I want to write about, packing and unpacking again, reading the NY Times Now, sending articles out to those I think will benefit from such news, and packing and unpacking.

*I read this somewhere and copied it. “Our internal circadian clocks are located in every cell in our body. They are controlled by a part of the brain called the suprachiasmatic nucleus, which ensure that every cell is in sync with the others. All our biological functions oscillate daily with our circadian rhythm.” I am not sure how to apply this exactly…thinking it means it isn’t just my sleep but every part of me kind of whacked time wise. Too deep for me. I barely passed Fundamentals of Science.

IMG_1663.jpg

Tomorrow morning Len and I take Diego to Auntie Joan’s Ranch for an extended Doggie Play Date with Bella, Stella. Ella, Gage and

IMG_1655.JPG

others turn outs. Len will leave his car there (only Diego rides in Len’s car) then we will motor on to SAT to take Mom to see her doctor. I imagine Billy and I will both go…I am the dresser and shouter; he is the resident expert on her health. After the appointment, Len and I will high tail it back to Salado so I can pack and unpack one more time, before leaving for San Miguel on Tuesday morning.

So much going on and not too much of it significant…reading and listening to some interesting things….just started Mr. Churchill’s Secretary for book club, listening to This is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett . I am loving the latter—great book for those who aspire to really ‘write.’ I have recommended it to one of the book clubs I am attending.

I had a great conversation with Lou Ann this week. Bill, her new husband of about 8 years, is having his photographs exhibited at Texas Tech. I am for sure going. IMG_1604.jpg

Lou Ann.jpgIMG_1640.JPG

The 2nd Annual American Cancer Association Bra Brunch was this past Thursday. I horned my way into sitting with the Killeen gals…they already had a table booked to capacity but kindly acted like they always meant for me to be with them…it was a great time—much better organized and attended this year. Food was yummy and Jim R. did a fantastic job talking about his breast cancer. Penny was surprised and wonderfully honored when Jack H. honored her with his amazing peacock bra and strut! She raised her own bids until she hit $500.00! The most for any one bra auctioned. She is precious. IMG_1608.JPG

One Response to “I Gotta a Lot of Respect for Line Cooks in Charge of Caramelizing Onions”

  1. Lou Snn Weaks Says:

    I am so excited that I made the Journal with sich a flattering picture. Of course, I wouldn’t have had the gorgeous green top if you had taken me shopping in that delightful store!! Loved talking to you and hope to see you in the New Year. Have a wonderful trip to Mexico. Much love

Leave a Reply

