December 7th

…..Pearl Harbor Day. Pam died eleven years ago. She will be forever right there in my brain and heart.

I am not going to be a gloomy Gus tonight….I will just recount things instead of teasing apart each event and it’s emotional partner.

I am roasting ‘my’ famous Buckee’s Bacon Wrapped, Cream Cheese and Jalapeño Pork Roast that I didn’t cook on Friday.

There are lots of little things I can mention but the real biggies are Len and Mom. Len had a laminectomy on December 1…Wikipedia says it is minimally invasive….well he has a 6” incision down the lower part of his spine, 31 staples running up (looks like a zipper), and he is, of course, black and blue. Dr. H. shaved off the lower vertebrae and widened the spinal canal. So, I will leave out all the medical stuff that I can’t get right, and say that Len is doing great overall. He walks currently with a walker. BUT, he does have some pain….I couldn’t rate it….sometimes 0 sometimes 10. All those nerves have to knit back and that won’t be fast. He is pretty eager to see this behind him and it is difficult for him to be patient. If he is better tomorrow we will go on a ride….maybe out to Ft. Hood. He won’t be driving for at least another week.IMG_2001.jpg

Friday night Len said he felt well enough to have the Happy Hour folks over…the Lawson’s were here from PA and the Denton’s were driving up from Wimberly. Two hours before the guests were to arrive, Brother Bill called. Mom fell; used her Life Line to call for help; EMS took her to North East Methodist Hospital. Happy Hour cancelled and I hit the road. There is sooooo much that happens in a hospital event. So the outcome is that she fell probably because of feeling discombobulated due to an undiagnosed urinary infection. I took her home and stayed over the night. I don’t see how Mom survives. She is emaciated yet eats well. She has some kind of odd will to keep going that I don’t understand. She wants her flu shot and she wants to take her medications. As I see it, she has no quality of life. It isn’t my call. She does NOT want to relocate. Billy has several good leads he is researching for a sitter/helper in addition to Monica who comes two times a week.

December 11, 2014. Clearly some time has passed since I started this entry. There is so much going on and I seem to be floundering and can’t manage anything….maybe I never did. Len continues to improve….he is very pumped up about his doctor’s appointment tomorrow. Mainly he is hoping the staples are removed and he is given permission to drive. Yesterday we had his first outing to Walmart….he was zipping around the store using the walker….BUT he did need to stop and sit occasionally and he is being very careful about twisting, bending, and lifting. I have taken the temporary dog run duty….this includes taking the golf cart around the property so Diego can race around and burn up some energy…very important.

Tuesday night our Salado Book Club had our December soiree and also selected our books for 2015. These are the books we chose:

Me Before You

• Killing Patton

• The Light Between Oceans

• Ordinary Grace

• The Dinosaur Feather

• Eleanor and Park

• The Invention of Wings

• Claire of the Sea Light

• Leaving Time

• Her Fearful Symmetry

• All the Light We Cannot See

IMG_1983.jpg

Brother Bill is very good about calling me and keeping me updated on Mom’s wellbeing. I do my best to be a good listener and not assert too many opinions…he is doing his very best. Mom seems to be unraveling…she has lost her feeling in her hands so she frequently drops things….she has trouble eating, etc. She is particularly worried about her house and the furnishings. She seems to want Billy to move into her house after she goes…he doesn’t seem interested. Mom and I talked about it when I was home for her fall experience…actually I don’t know if we really talked about it. Mom cannot hear anything and she frequently misunderstands what is said to her. Her deafness has almost completely separated us. This pains me more than anything. Now we have someone who comes in to help her bathe. I think in the past three weeks Mom has lost so much ability. She told Billy this morning that she wanted to go to a nursing home….I think really assisted living. She is depressed, frail, weak, and anxious. This week Billy has been checking out different facilities. This is not going to happen easily. I will go home next week and help Billy look. We agree that Mom needs to be involved in the choice…I think it is the right time but I am afraid that when Mom sees what is available she will balk.

I love picking up pecans…better than finding sand dollars on the beach. We have about 5 native trees down by the derycreek but they produces fairly small nuts…this year a good crop. When I showed them to Len he said, “These make me think of Bob Wadley.” We used to send Bob tiny pecans for his squirrels in Amarillo. I like that Len remembered that.

IMG_1936.JPG

All the things I was going to write about seem insignificant.

I went to see Foy again on Sunday. He has lost a good deal of weight and has a bad haircut that makes him seem like a different person. He is much, much more accepting than I ever expected, although he says that he does not want to move and not be able to take his furniture. This must be a much bigger loss for older people than I ever realized. I am going to do my best to visit him every week. He told me how boring it was in the Rehab Center. I can only imagine how boring this is for him…he isn’t a typical fellow…reading British Traditional Home, House to Home, and the English Home. He also misses his garden and particularly he misses his piano…he told me that he always played his piano every single day. He wants me to bring him some popped corn and crackers. I hope he is having many visitors….he had Thanksgiving dinner with the former Swedish Ambassador and his wife who live in Waco.

IMG_2007.JPGToday was December Birthday Club…and next week I am reviewing Book Thief for Adelea’s Book Club. I have read it twice before—once just because it was recommended, the second time before I reviewed it for the Salado Book Club. Now the third time so I can review it for Adelea’s Book Club…since I am running out of time, I am reading it and listening to it….which is another reason I am not writing well. I am listening and writing…multitasking isn’t my strength.

Nice news: David and Frances are engaged!

IMG_2005.JPG Ok, time for a glass of wine and more listening to Book Thief.

Leave a Reply

