Apprehended in the ICU Waiting Room

I invite drama into my life without even knowing it. Our friend, Mike S. came to check on us yesterday….Len was still getting, ‘prettied up’ after the surgery and out like a light. After Mike left, I was left in the waiting area and it was like I was at an elementary school playground. Now, now matter how I put this, it may sound like profiling or sterotyping. I am just saying this—different cultures think differently about waiting rooms. It’s ok, it is just different. The main area was filled to the max by one family unit of 20 plus Latinos. There were infants, teens, adults, and the aged. Some were in wheel chairs. It reminded me of the San Miguel de Allende Panteon during Dia de la Muertros. There was an abundance of activity, energy, and noise. I mean a lot. So, I figured it would be best for me to relocate. Mike and I had spoken quietly….so not to disturb anyone but who would have heard? I saw an adjacent annex with a wall of empty chairs. So I went in and sat down, only to discover there was a very large group of people sitting at the other end of the room…maybe 30 people. There were only adults, teens, toddlers, and infants. Many were playing basketball. There was a very big table laden with large aluminum pans and large, empty soda bottles. It was very loud too. Very, very loud. I gave up on quiet and just started texting family and friends about Len’s status. I was very focused on my texting. I sensed a presence near me…and saw to my surprise a policeman. This is how the subsequent conversation went. “Mam, will you step this way?” I thought, “No something awful has happened to Len.” I said, ‘You are scaring me.” Officer said, “Please man please follow me.” So we went around the corner. He asked, “Mam, it has been reported that you are taking pictures of family members.” “No, I am texting my family and friends.” “Are you with the media?” No, I am a retired educator and I volunteer in the cancer infusion center.” I thought this would show I was of good character. Officer: “Mam, why are you in the waiting area?” My husband just had a triple bypass.” Officer: “What is your husband’s name? What room is he in?” I said, “Would you like to see my phone photos?” “No Mam, that won’t be necessary. We need you not to take photos.” I practiced my Scott and White mission statement and included privacy knowledge. It didn’t seem to change his opinion. I said, and I thought kindly, “Please don’t feel defensive.” This in light of current trends made him respond more defensively. It is a wonder that he did not say, “Mam, just step away from your phone. Hands in the air.”I am glad I wasn’t tasered, taken down, cuffed, or read my rights. I like, admire, and respect the police. I was just texting our loved ones…texting requires the phone to be held upright. Drama.

Much later: The police chief from Marlin had been shot. They thought I was the media. I am sorry for the confusion.

2 Responses to “Apprehended in the ICU Waiting Room”

  1. Lou Ann weaks Says:

    This could only happen to you!!!! That is why you are so much fun to know!!!!!

  2. I actually did laugh out loud!!! Your description of the groups waiting are priceless!!! I have seen groups like that. I am so happy you were not arrested, cuffed, or read your rights!!!! Loved this entry!

Leave a Reply

