Maya Angelou: “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside of you.”

IMG_6168.jpg

I know this-if I write something out or say it out loud, I understand the issue so much more. Writing is good for me. Yesterday I went to the C. Thompson Conference Center at UT for a class-Journal to Memoirs: Writing from the Soul. I was actually supposed to take a Yoga breathing class but it was cancelled and I am thrilled. I loooooooved this class. I came back absolutely fired up…I should have started reflecting because I already have dumbed up.

Here’s the scoop and it is to help me secrete whatever chemical helps the brain with long term memory. There are journals and there are memoirs…journals are basically private and memoirs are autobiographical and shared.



Journals

• Point of view is rather chaotic

• In the present

• Ok to contradict yourself

• Includes dialog, guided images, catharsis, reflection, lists, portraits, unsent letters, dream work, art, etc.

• Written for fun, showing rhythms, life cycle, self-awareness,

• Pre-requisite: desire, time, and discipline

• Important to read other journals

• I need to buy new graphic journal What It IsIMG_6170.jpg

• I am already bored. I hate re-writing notes.

Memoirs

• Point of view is organized

• Edited

• Includes diaries, journal excerpts, transitional entries, quotes, letters, photos, maps, etc.

• For family history, focus life, tie lose ends, sense of personal worth/completion.

• Pre-requisite: Designated audience that will set style and tone. Themes organize journal entries

• Changes in your life- transformations

• OK I am done with this. I feel like I have a blister on my brain.

Here is the new information. If you want to get something published, look at the NEW journals. They are graphic and really all over the place. This is a result of young writers and readers. There is nothing better than a good obstacle for publication potential and of course, SHAME and MISERY! I am now interested in ‘dream work.’ Lord knows, I have plennnnty of material. I think it is a drug I take with side effects of increased OCD and vivid dreams. Really. As time goes by, both attributes are increasing. So I learned about Pillow Books but whoa…I just Googled the term and I see lots of erotica. OK, I won’t do Pillow Books but I like the name as far as dreaming is concerned. Our teacher taught us to write about the environment of our dreams and how to organize our dream journals and how to write haikus from our dream themes. I won’t be able to do that.

Wellllllllll, I re-read this and it certainly is chaotic and doesn’t show why I came back so energized. I did like the writing prompts….drawing a fruit that I am today (Zaftig banana,) the fruit I would like to be tomorrow (Sugar Kiss melon,) and my favorite toy (Madame Alexander doll.) Oh my God, the punctuation is a mess and I am not fixing it….after all this is a journal.

I learned this new word that influences publication

psy·cho·graph·ics

ˌsīkōˈɡrafiks/

noun: psychographics

The study and classification of people according to their attitudes, aspirations, and other psychological criteria, especially in market research.

All this and yesterday there was magnificent sunset to end an awesome day.IMG_6162.jpg

One Response to “Maya Angelou: “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside of you.””

  1. Sarah Hartwig Says:

    Organized point of view? Designated audience? What fun is that!!!! Write away, girl. I’ll always be your audience! Sally

Leave a Reply

